Learning the hard way

Lots of news today, the good and the bad.

Ouch

At least I have all the pieces

I’ve taken up my novel again, for the purposes of the commercial fiction module. The first two chapters were almost done.

Then I dropped my laptop, while my usb was sticking out of the side. Well, you can see what happened. I’ve restored my files from my portable hard drive, but they’re quite old… yes I had everything sorted and just didn’t do regular backups. I am a fool. So I’m learning the hard way. Luckily the only thing I’ve lost completely is an article (which was about 6k!) but I still have my notes in my journal, so it can be rewritten.

Moving swiftly on, what else have I been up to? Oh yes, sending off my unpublished work to various places and crossing my fingers. Mslexia, an excellent quality writing magazine for women has been on my ‘wish’ list for a long time (http://www.mslexia.co.uk/index.php). So, a few days ago I sent them a poem of mine and a short piece about something which happened a very long time ago for their submissions call ‘Memoirs’.

Dotting the i’s, Crossing the t’s

Here it is, printed with a cover letter and a first class stamp (only the best for Mslexia). Who know’s if I’ll hear back from them? It’s a waiting game, so I’ll just have to carry on in the mean time. The deadline is in December so I’ll give them three months and if I don’t hear a whisper form them, I’ll re-draft and try elsewhere.

I’ve also been helping the Nottingham University Academic press and am on their editorial board. My name’s on their website and everything: http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/education/research/jubileepress/editorial-board.aspx

Editing academic papers is very different from what I’m used to, but a great challenge, something else to put on my CV and counts as my final module for the Nottingham advantage award. If all goes well I will be the second person to graduate from my course with this. Basically, it’s the Duke of Edinburgh award from my university. EDIT: I thought I wasn’t the first, but I think one of the lecturer’s mentioned I might be. That is, of course, the achievement of  Pippa Hennessy, super-woman and multi-tasker extraordinaire.

To finish on a lighter note, I make no secret of the fact that I love stop-motion films. If you think you might enjoy them too, take a look at this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcESvy3XRis

2 thoughts on “Learning the hard way

  1. battypip says:

    Um… I got the Advantage Award! I haven’t been awarded it yet because they got confused about whether I was still a student when I converted back to part-time. But I did get it. Sorry 🙂

Leave a Reply

