Sell With Words

The recent hiatus hasn’t been because I haven’t been doing much- quite the opposite, and I’m sure you’ll see the burst of activity once things are completed and everything starts to flow smoothly off the production lines.

I recently went to a talk at Nottingham Festival of Words about copywriting, lead by Ben Braber. Here are the notes I made during the talk, which I think others might be interested in. Copywriting is an area of writing I knew nothing about before going to university- and proves that you don’t need to be a novelist to make money in writing.

What is copywriting? It’s writing text for the purpose of marketing something, a person, product or idea.

Here are Ben’s tips:

  • Write in a good mood.
  • Be short, simple and sincere.
  • Use active tense,
  • Writing is a dialogue with your readers, get to know them or imagine who you are writing for.
  • Use language your readers use, 3 syllables or less.
  • Use short sentences of 9-10 words.
  • Each sentence is one thought. Get to the point.
  • Use commas, and avoid other punctuation.
  • Use adjectives only when needed.
  • Keep paragraphs short (3-4 sentences)
  • Keep one subject per paragraph.
  • Put ‘your’ reader in the text.
  • End with a ‘call to action’.

Make sure that everything you write appeals to the following-

What people like:

  • Money
  • Spare-Time
  • Comfort
  • Health
  • Being Popular
  • Enjoying themselves

Don’t like/ avoid:

  • Loss
  • Discomfort
  • Comfort
  • Pain
  • Trouble

I hope this is useful for everyone- plus its good for me to have it up here (I can lose my notebook, not so with my webpages.)

Until next time,

Emily

 

Leave a Reply

