Vampires in Publishing

P1050690Just who is this lovely lady? Why it’s Rachael Caine, vampire novelist loved by YA readers in the UK, and New York Times Bestseller. And why did I get to meet her? For leftlion, to do an interview – to be published. Aaaah, this is the life.

Of course, I can’t sustain it without a job, and while my internships are going well, there isn’t a job waiting at the end (such is the current climate.) I’ve been designing leaflets, and have been given an entire book to see from editing to production by Pewter Rose Press – so I must be doing something right!

I also paid for my food shopping with money earned teaching writing comics to the Dovetail project at Nottingham Writer’s Studio. Pippa Hennessey runs it, and the initiative stretches across the globe!

I’ve also had the confirmation from New College Nottingham. I’ll be teaching two workshops for them in the new academic year. There is so much to look forward to.

As I mentioned last time, my friend Chris is continuing his self-publishing venture, and we met up in a coffee-shop in Beeston to discuss ideas and solutions. This week has been busy, but I wouldn’t change it for anything. Now if only I could knuckle down and do some original fiction.

I’ve been playing with the idea of continuing my novel… and now that I’ve taken some time away from it, I really think it could happen. I’ll set myself a word count for every day, just like when I did Nanowrimo. Would you like to see sneek-peaks here?

Until next time,

Emily

Leave a Reply

