And you thought I was dead…

I haven’t posted in a while, but I haven’t been idle, and I haven’t shuffled off this mortal coil aged 21.
I’ve been forced to do a lot of growing up this week, and its been making me dizzy. I’ve been offered a job, found a place to live and am preparing to leave the nest. 3 years of University doesn’t seem like very much to have prepared me for this. I am suddenly very tired. This is the start of my adult life. I’ll be going from unemployed to a full time position at Jupiter, a design company in Ruddington, Nottingham.

I still have a lot of freelance projects to finish, and will be very busy today trying to do as much as possible. These include:

  • Editing for Pewter Rose Press. I’ve been entrusted with a book to work on, from start to finish, editing right through to cover design and typesetting.

    Some previous work for Pewter Rose

    Some previous work for Pewter Rose

  • Typesetting the University of Nottingham RPG soc‘s new LARP manual. It’s not re-enactment, but its not just hitting your friends with a big stick. I like to think I’ve been a help so far, picking out things which were missing or needed clarifying.
  • Dark Crystal submission. There are plans from the Jim Henson theatre company to have a new book published, a prequel to the film. I’d love to get involved. The deadline for 10 k is in October, so I really need to get a move on.
  • HeartOfGlass- I write for an online magazine on a biweekly basis, and its a continuing project. I’m thinking about an article called ‘Lego: The best children’s toy?’

I’m packing for the move at the same time. Just when I need life to slow down for a moment, it speeds up!

Thank you for reading,

 

Emily

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

