Nanowrimo

It’s that time of year again, and I’m going to attempt the impossible. Working full-time and completing NaNoWriMo. For those who don’t know what it is, Nanowrimo is a writing challenge which encourages writers to produce a 50k manuscript in a month. Their website and forums have more information, and pep-talks to cheer you on (nanowrimo.org) I’m rebelling a little though (which is completely acceptable within their rules.)

My aim is simply to write the daily 1600 words. Whether this is blogs, articles, short stories, non-fiction or my long-abandoned novel (which I’ve re-planned.) I’ve been neglecting my blog, but there is so much I need to catch up on, and resources I want to share. The first being OneWord.com – it’s a site created to ease writer’s block. It gives you one word and a minute to write anything. At the end of the minute it lets you finish you sentence, and then you can choose to publish your writing, or not. I’m going to try to publish the paragraph every day, so that I’ll have a stack of ‘jumping off’ points for stories. I’m hoping it will add a little oil to the writing cogs in the morning.

I’d like to share a motivational image with you. 944292_10151797343164664_880630120_n Those of you who have experienced the publishing world will know just how good a rejection letter this is. First I did my homework, I found out that this publisher produces highly-illustrated non-fiction books (often on craft subjects) and that they had, in the past, published books on photography. I also found out that they were accepting unsolicited manuscripts.

then I waited for a letter, email or phone call. Eventually, this letter came. I am lucky to have had a letter at all, owing to the amount of work publishers have to do. So that’s lucky thing number one.

Two, they addressed the letter to me directly and clearly wrote this letter to be about my work. They took time to read my proposal and consider it. They know what I’m about.

Three, they offer to look at my work in the future. they clearly didn’t have a problem with my style of writing, or the depth of my proposal. So I know I can write something capable of getting an editor’s attention.

This really is the best ‘no’ I have had from a publishing house. And just to have a little more of a ‘boost’ because it’s November 1stand I have 50k ahead of me, here are some more kind words I received from an online magazine:

Emily, I do believe that I have now become a great fan of yours. Sorry for the delay in response. Although I did not choose this poem for publication, I found your voice very soothing, more specifically, I found the darkness in your poem very comforting. In another life, I bet we are close friends. I hope you submit again in a couple of months.

The first year I attempted Nanowrimo I ‘won’, I got to the end of the 50k and the end of my book. Since then I have tried and failed to do this again. I think my success was due to a highly structured day. I got up early and cleared half my word count before going to school, wrote more at break time and was often finished by lunch, which allowed me to spend time with my friends. Having social time is very important when you are a writer, as it is such a lonely profession.

Thank you for reading,

And good luck with your own Nanowrimo this year,

Emily

Leave a Reply

