Queen of All Albion

Over the past two years, I’ve written several book reviews for leftlion (Nottingham’s free culture magazine). To ensure that I keep copies of what I’ve written for them, I’m posting them here too. So, without further ado:

Queen of All Albion

Linda Hardy

£2.76

Trinity Revell is a remarkable girl, and very outspoken considering she lives in 1592. She accepts an arranged marriage with good cheer, until she finds out that her ‘husband’ is not her dashing cousin, Will, but his ageing stepfather. This is the start of a girl’s adventure story with runaway brides, sword fights and superstition. Our Notts-based author shows us a different side to the Midlands, one of a travelling band of jaggers and actors where Trinity must battle with possessive mothers, her own hormones and the Devil himself. The story has a slow start and a few archaic words put me off, but I kept reading and I’m glad I did. The pace picks up, galloping to the finish. Will Trinity regain her reputation? Will her cousin shake off the Devil’s Blessing? And what are those funny feelings Trinity has for one of the travellers? Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

